Guild History

The Beginnings

In 1956, 30 women formed an Auxiliary to the Heard Museum with the goals of supporting the mission of the Museum, providing financial assistance, and conducting guided tours of the Museum’s collection. Founding President Helen Shackelford said of the role of Heard Guild volunteers: “Much needed doing, and we did it.”

The Guild grew exponentially in its first years, adding many new members, projects, and responsibilities. Volunteers opened a Gift Shop in 1958 “pledging to sell only the good, the authentic.” Also in that year, the first Indian Fair was held, and in 1968 the Heard Guild Arts & Crafts Exhibit was created as a juried competition. These two events were the basis of the current Indian Fair & Market, the Guild’s main fund-raising event. Men, including Senator Barry Goldwater, joined the Guild in 1972. Over the years, programs including Speakers Bureau, Information Desk, Student Art Sale, Library Book Sale, Scholarships and Grants, Trips, Lecture Series, and more were conceived, planned, and implemented by the vast talents of Guild volunteers.


The Guild President, elected by the Guild membership, presides at Guild meetings, represents the Guild at Museum Board of Trustee meetings, and, as an ex officio member of all Guild committees, generally supervises all Guild activities.

2007-2008      Jerry Bryan
2008-2009      Ann Gorton
2009-2011      Edna Weinberg
2011-2012      Lucille Shanahan
2012-2014      Rod Passmore
2014-2016      Susan Kolman
2016-2018      Mary Endorf
2018-2020      Sue Snyder
2020-2022      Jane Przeslica
2022-2024      John Miller
2024-2025      Shelley Mowry

Indian Fair & Market Chairs

The Fair Chair is arguably one of the most challenging and time-consuming jobs that the Guild offers to its volunteers. Responsible for managing every aspect of the annual Indian Fair & Market, the Fair Chair coordinates all Fair activities and supervises dozens of committees and hundreds of volunteers.  For a full description of all the Fair Chair’s responsibilities, click here.

2001      Jean Timmer
2002      Phyllis Noone
2003      Phyllis Noone
2004      De Bachmann
2005      De Bachmann
2006      Dave Dolge
2007      Valerie Lucas/David Rothberg
2008      Barbara Johnson
2009      Barbara Johnson
2010      John Miller
2011      John Miller
2012      David Newark
2013      David Newark
2014      Pat Kilburn
2015      Pat Kilburn
2016      Pat Kilburn
2017      Shelley Mowry
2018      Shelley Mowry
2019      Anna Flynn
2020      Anna Flynn
2021      Anna Flynn
2022      Mary Endorf, Jackie Stubbs
2023      Jane Sanford, Frank Vickory
2024      Jane Sanford, Frank Vickory